2015 Regular Session
|At the request of:||(at the request of House Interim Committee on Judiciary)|
|Bill Title:||Relating to crime; and declaring an emergency.|
Directs State Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision to adopt sex offender risk assessment methodology to classify sex offenders into risk levels.
Directs board to classify persons convicted of certain sex crimes and sentenced to imprisonment. Directs Psychiatric Security Review Board or Oregon Health Authority to classify persons found guilty except for insanity of sex crimes. Authorizes Oregon Youth Authority or county juvenile department to register certain juvenile sex offenders. Requires certain sex offenders moving into state or convicted in another jurisdiction to report to Department of State Police or law enforcement agency in county of residence instead of Department of State Police in Marion County. Provides that failure or refusal to participate in risk assessment constitutes crime of failure to report as a sex offender. Prohibits Internet release of information concerning sex offender under jurisdiction of Psychiatric Security Review Board or Oregon Health Authority. Repeals provisions relating to juvenile predatory sex offenders. Extends tenancy termination provisions and crimes related to unlawful contact with children to unclassified former predatory sex offenders and certain level three sex offenders. Requires sharing of certain information among Psychiatric Security Review Board, Oregon Health Authority and State Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision for purposes of sex offender classification. Authorizes Oregon Youth Authority and juvenile department to disclose information to Psychiatric Security Review Board, Oregon Health Authority and State Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision for purposes of sex offender classification. Extends time in which State Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision, or Psychiatric Security Review Board in certain circumstances, must classify existing registrants to December 1, 2018. Provides for default classification of sex offenders who fail or refuse to participate in risk assessment. Requires juvenile court to hold hearing at end of jurisdiction over juvenile to determine whether juvenile must report as sex offender. Specifies procedures for holding hearings and standard of proof. Extends permissible age difference between victim and person convicted of certain sex crime to three years and 180 days for purpose of order setting aside conviction. Requires certain court findings for orders in which age difference is between two years and 180 days and three years and 180 days. Authorizes person living outside state to file petition for order relieving person of obligation to report as sex offender as result of adjudication in Oregon juvenile court. Provides that State Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision hearings are presumed to be panel hearings. Authorizes minimum panel of three board members to make and review certain decisions. Authorizes chairperson of board to require all voting members of board to participate in hearing or decision. Appropriates moneys from General Fund to State Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision for purposes related to panel hearings. Declares emergency, effective on passage.
|Chapter Number:||Chapter 820|
|Fiscal Impact:||Budget Report Issued|
|Revenue Impact:||Has Minimal Revenue Impact|
|Measure Analysis:||Staff Measure Summary / Impact Statements|
|Current Location:||Chapter Number Assigned|
|Potential Conflicts of Interest/Vote Explanations:||Potential Conflicts of Interest/Vote Explanation Documents|